Will Argentine Martinez, Inter striker, become the tenth player to win the Champions League and the World Cup in the same season?

The Argentine Lautaro Martinez, the Italian player of Inter Milan, was very happy to qualify for the Champions League final at the expense of Milan, stressing that unity and team spirit played a prominent role in the victory.

Inter Milan defeated Milan with a clean goal – yesterday, Tuesday – in the second leg of the semi-finals, after the first-leg match ended last week with Inter Milan’s victory, winning a total score of three goals.

Inter Milan – who won the title 3 times, the last title for an Italian team – qualified for the Champions League final for the last time in 2010, and for the sixth time in its history and the first in 13 years.

“We did a tremendous job in both matches,” said Lautaro Martinez, who won the 2022 World Cup in Qatar with the Argentine national team, and who scored the winning goal for Inter Milan against Milan in the 74th minute of yesterday’s match.

“The secret was in the group and the team spirit. I had a similar experience at the World Cup: when you are united as a team, you perform as well as you can in such very important matches.”

“We knew we had a chance to qualify for the Champions League final, and tonight (yesterday) we accomplished our mission,” he added.

Inter Milan will meet in the final – scheduled in Istanbul on June 10 – the winner of the other confrontation in the semi-finals (defending champion Real Madrid, the team that won the most championship with 14 titles, and Manchester City, England).

In the event that Milan is crowned with the title, Argentine Martinez will be the tenth player to win the Champions League and World Cup titles.

It is noteworthy that among the nine players there are 6 players from Bayern Munich and the West Germany national team who won the two titles in 1974:

1974: Sepp Maier, Paul Breitner, Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller, Uli Hoeness, Gerd Müller and Hans-Georg Schwarzenbeck (Bayern Munich and West Germany)

1998: Christian Karembeu (Real Madrid and France)

2002: Roberto Carlos (Real Madrid and Brazil)

2018: Raphael Varane (Real Madrid and France)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top